Words of Hope

13th Annual Words of Hope

Presented By

Thursday, September 17th
7:00 p.m.

Words of Hope is Caritas of Austin’s largest annual fundraising event. Each year, the event features powerful stories that reflect our mission, and celebrates those individuals and businesses who contribute so fully to our community.

This year, we are asking you to save the date for Thursday, September 17th, to join us for our 13th Annual Words of Hope. We are looking forward to spending the evening with you, virtually, in your homes. Please plan to join us as we share our successes, highlight our partners, honor our community members, and prove that together, we can truly make Austin more vibrant for all.

View the Event Program

2020 Excellence in the Game of Life Award

Each year, the Harvey Penick Award for Excellence in the Game of Life is presented to a prominent leader whose life emulates that of the first recipient, golf legend, Harvey Penick. This year, in light of all the changes and challenges our community has worked through, we are celebrating the Austin Community as our 2020 Harvey Penick Honoree.

Our lead sponsors have selected a member of the community—leaders, mentors, stewards of community trust, and champions of the greater good—to honor. These individuals, who strengthen and grow our community, each have a meaningful legacy in Austin, and we are proud to celebrate them!

2020 Sponsors


* Denotes half sponsorship


* Denotes half sponsorship


* Denotes half sponsorship


* Denotes half sponsorship

In-Kind Sponsors

* Denotes half sponsorship

Contact Emily Lewis at elewis@caritasofaustin.org or 512-646-1268 for questions.

Past Speakers and Entertainers

2019 | Robert Earl Keen – folk and Americana singer-songwriter
2018 | Emmitt Smith – former Dallas Cowboy, successful entrepreneur and philanthropist
2017 | Ron Hall – author of Same Kind of Different as Me and What Difference Do It Make
2016 | Dr. Jeff Salz and Alepho Deng – author of They Poured Fire On Us From The Sky
2015 | Bobby Bones – prominent radio personality
2014 | Marcus Luttrell – U.S. Navy SEAL and author of Lone Survivor
2013 | Luma Mufleh – inspirational coach of a soccer team called the Fugees-short for refugees. Basis for book Refugees United
2012 | Liz Murray – author of Breaking Night and whose story inspired the film From Homeless to Harvard
2011 | Rick Bragg – Pulitzer Prize winning author of All Over but the Shoutin’
2010 | Leigh Anne Tuohy – the woman whose life inspired the novel and film The Blind Side
2009 | Jeannette Walls – the author of The Glass Castle
2008 | Ron Hall and Denver Moore – authors of Same Kind of Different as Me